Celebrate Mother’s Day Card

Happy Monday, everyone!

I have a lovely card to share with you today, perfect for Mother’s Day aswell as many other occasions. I had so much fun working with these stamps from Altenew, the Wild Hibiscus and Label Love and I also pulled out my Kuretake watercolors as it has been a while since I haven’t used them:)

20160418_154254www

I started by gold embossing my stamped images and watercolored all very quickly. Just added water to the images and then dropped the color in. Just because I wanted my colors to be very light, I mixed a bit of white with each of the colors that I used and also the white shimmery color that comes with this set. I sooo love the effect that it gives once everything is dried!:)

20160418_143805

For my card base I stamped a polka dot background in black. Next I trimmed all the elements with my scissors and adhered all in a cluster with foam and also glue for the leaves.

I really like how it all came out, love the soft colors with the gold embossing and also the contrast that the black pattern adds:) I am entering my card in the SSS Wednesday Challenge, Let’s do the Polka

20160418_142953

You can watch the how-to video down below or HERE on my YouTube channel!

Thank you for your kind visit!

5 thoughts on “Celebrate Mother’s Day Card

  1. scrapawayg3 says:

    Gorgeous! LOVE the small polka dot background with the gold embossed flowers and leaves. Such a cool and trendy card. Thanks for joining in the Let’s Polka challenge at Simon Says Stamp Challenge!
    Gayatri xx

    Like

  2. Helen says:

    Really love your card Andreea, very soft and feminine. Watercolour is my favourite medium but I still need a lot more practice!! I learned a lot today watching your video, thanks so much.

    Like

    • diycraftyscraps says:

      Thank you, Helen! I too need to learn and practice more, but will keep trying as I really love the loose effect of watercoloring. I did realize though that if I stress out less, the coloring turns out better, just let the water pull the color and do its own thing:) Also it is important to let it dry, as at first it might look in a way that I don’t like it, but when it dries, everything changes:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

