Embossed Splatters with Water

Hello,

I am so excited to share my card with you today. I don’t have too many cards of my own that I go really crazy about, I am pretty hard on myself, but today’s card has to be one of my favorites so far. And the technique that I used for this card is just so fun!20160211_145256So I started by die cutting the branch from watercolor paper and colored it in with my watercolors. For my beautiful bird I used a die from SSS called Bird of Roses, and die cut it from gold glitter paper. This die is simply gorgeous! I glued both pieces onto a watercolor cardstock panel and then stamped my sentiment with black ink.20160211_145320To create those gold splatters there, I just flicked some plain water with my brush and quickly added the gold embossing powder on top, before the paper absorbed all the water. With my heat gun I melted the powder and it worked just like it would with any sticky ink. If you have splatters that contain more water, the melting of the powder will take a bit more, but it will melt in the end. This is so simple to make and you can do this with so many colored embossing powders. It is so fun!20160211_152708I mounted my panel onto foam and adhered it onto a cream card base. Of course, I added sequins and shimmer, as I just can’t get enough from using these finishing touches:)

You can watch the how-to video right below or HERE on my Youtube channel.

2 thoughts on “Embossed Splatters with Water

  1. Sarah Seals says:

    Very beautiful card! It’s so awesome how you were able to use embossing powder with water! I’ve never seen that before. Thank you so much for sharing!

    Like

  2. Jamie Vanskiver says:

    Beautiful card! Love the bird in gold! I’ve never seen or used embossing powder with water, fabulous idea, definitely going to try it! It looks terrific on this card 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

