DIY Clear Cards using the Minc Machine

Hello, guys!

I am so excited to share this card with you today! I’ve always liked clear acetate cards and I think that the first clear card I ever saw was one made by Jennifer Mcguire. She is just fabulous and sooo creative! And although I liked clear cards so much I never convinced myself to buy the acetate cards and try to make some myself.

But these days I worked with my Minc, I made some laminated wall decorations and some bookmarks too, and while I was experimenting with the pouches I thought why not try and run a clear pouch through my machine and see what happens. And ta-da! There I had my first clear card and was bumping around with joy all day long:)

20151128_142855

Now I never touched a real acetate card, maybe it is a bit more sturdier that the one I made, but this one too it is pretty sturdy and you can fold it into a card so easily. Having created my first card, I wanted to turn into a real decorated card so I pulled out some stamps and inks and started creating.

20151128_140124

I kept the layout very simple as I didn’t want to cover too much of that transparency, so I stamped and die cut the cute donkey from a Clearly Besotted stamp set and also some trees from Technique Tuesday. I adhered all down with adhesive tape and used foam for my cute donkey there. I also wanted to hide the adhesive that you could see from the inside once you opened the card, so I remember how Jennifer did that and cut some more of the same shapes to glue them right behind.

20151128_140119

For my sentiment I used a stamp set from Simon Says Stamp and the best white ink for non-porous surfaces,  the StazOn Cotton White. Last thing that I did was to add some shimmer onto my embelishments and decorated the tree with several colored gem stones.

I was so happy with how this came out! Another cool thing you can do by laminating clear pouches is to create transparencies for your shaker cards! And that is just so wonderful as I always was searching for old packagings to cut my acetate from. Now I can create so many shaker cards and make my own clear sheets! Yay!!

I am entering my card in the Jennifer McGuire‘s challenge called Share Handmade Kindness and in the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge

Ok, so here is the how-to video and you can also watch it HERE on my Youtube channel.

Thank you all for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

