Christmas Holiday Cards Day 1 & How to Create Snow

Hello, everyone!

I am finally starting my Christmas Cards series and I am so excited! This is the first year I am making a winter holiday series and I hope I can bring you some joy & inspiration with my projects. My first card is very playfull and fun, I used several techniques, like stenciling, creating a background with distress inks, coloring and even creating snow 🙂

20151022_173627

I started by creating a mask for the winter tree that I wanted to have on my card and by creating that mask I was able to color the background with my Distress Inks. Next I created myself a stencil with a hill die so that I could create the snow. This was the first time trying this technique and it worked just great. So I used some texture paste for the snow and poured clear glitter on top, just to make it more shimmery and sparkly:) Once the paste dried, it grabbed all that glitter and I was just so happy!

20151022_173643

While the paste was drying I moved onto the next step, so I stamped the penguins from the Avery Elle stamp set and did some quick coloring with my ZIG markers. I then used the matching dies to cut them all out. As I wanted to have them like they were playing a little game, I placed the penguins one on top of eachother and adhered the smallest and funniest one upside down, like he is throwing himselef into that pile of fresh snow:)) It just made me laugh so much!

20151022_173700

For my sentiment I used the stamp from the same set and white heat embossed it. I also added some falling snow with a white gel pen, sequins and shimmer with the Wink of Stella and my card was all done.

You can watch the how-to video right below or HERE on my Youtube channel.

I’m entering my card in the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge called Throwback. I chose the challenge Love this technique for my distress ink background and the snow effect:)

Thanks for stopping by and see you on wednesday with a new winter card.

http://static.inlinkz.com/ppr.js

5 thoughts on “Christmas Holiday Cards Day 1 & How to Create Snow

Leave a Reply

