Halloween Cards with the Kissing Technique

Hello, all!

Lately I’ve seen many card makers creating Halloween or Christmas cards. I’ve always wanted to make a Christmas in July card but never had the time, hopefully I will be able to make one the next following days, but for today I would like to share with you my Halloween cards. I used a technique that is called ”kissing” and mixed up a bunch of stamp sets just because I couldn’t find a stamp set that had all I needed for these cards.

20150820_140249

For this technique you will need a pigment based ink, as it is juicier and stickier than regular dye based inks. It is alwas good to have a solid stamp, I used a clear stamp, but it works perfectly with rubber stamps also. The reason you need a solid stamp is to have enough space to do the ”kissing” on top with other stamps. So I inked my solid stamp with the Memento Luxe pigment ink, then I grabbed some smaller stamps and stamped on top of the solid one. For the small stamps you don’t need to ink them up, as you will be picking up the ink from the other stamp when you touch them. Doing so you will leave an impression on the solid stamp that will get transferred onto your card when you will make the stamping. You will probably want to check out the video, as I find it hard to explain it with words, lol.

I did the same for both cards, on one I used more of those small stamps just to experiment a bit more:) Next I Copic colored the sweet animals from the Trick or Treat stamp set by SSS and fussy cut them out with my scissors. I know I have the matching dies somewhere but after 2 hours of searching for them, I just used my scissors 😀

20150820_140130

For one of the cards I used some distress inks to color my background and used a die to create a hill for my little doggie there:). I wanted to keep my cards simple and I didn’t add too many embellishments as I intended to keep the focus on the big speech bubble that I created with the kissing technique:)

20150820_140110

It is for sure not a perfect stamping, but will play more with this technique for better results. I still had fun experimenting and it was like creating new stamps so I really can’t wait to try this with various stamps once again:)

**Just a note on the Memento Luxe Espresso Truffle Ink Pad. I noticed that the photos from various shops show this ink to be brown, mine is a dark grey, so I believe they sent me the wrong pad with the right lid. I don’t know which color I used for the bubble at this point 🙂

You can watch the how-to video right below or HERE if you want to check it out on Youtube.

Thx for dropping by!

http://static.inlinkz.com/ppr.js

Leave a Reply

