Adding Dimension with Stencils

..and an update on the Giveaway.

I hadn’t been contacted by the winner, so I had to make another draw. The new winner is

16.Teodora Podina ( tiktakro)

Congratulations, Teodora! I’ve emailed you. Don’t forget to answer to my email with your shipping address within 24h, otherwise another winner will be drawn:)

And now the projects for today:)

It’s been a while since I didn’t use texture paste onto my cards so now that I got some new ”toys” I decided to use them for this projects. I wanted to add some dimension to a stenciled layout so I first added the color with a blending foam and then applied the paste over that stenciling. I love the raised effect that I got with the paste by adding it only onto some of the areas. It is still a continuos pattern, but with a bit of dimension onto parts of the stenciled area.

DSC_0096

DSC_0102

I also created some dimension to the stenciled pattern by using a Copic marker and adding a bit of shading. And that’s another cool thing to do, it adds so much to a flat pattern so to say:)

DSC_0099

DSC_0086

For all my cards I used various dies and embellished my layouts with sequins or glitter. You can watch the how-to video down below or HERE on my Youtube channel.

Thank you and see you soon!

4 thoughts on “Adding Dimension with Stencils

  1. Teodora says:

    Thank you , Andreea.
    I also do love working with texture paste… Did you colored it with acrylics or it is already colored ? I always used a first layer of gesso under the paste, but now you give me this idea to try use it directly on cardstock. So good to learn new things from friends 🙂 . Must see again your video about paper thicknesses 😉

    Like

    • diycraftyscraps says:

      Hello, Teodora! It is already colored, but you can add color to a white paste with any kind of medium, inks, reinkers, markers (scribbled to the side on a mat or plastic bag), acrylics, you name it:). Gesso & paste together probably add to much weight or warping, I always do only the paste. For mixed media I use gesso, but not on my cards. The paper I work with is 240gsm weight. Thank you for your interest 🙂

      Like

  2. Jamie Vanskiver says:

    Love these cards and techniques! I just found your blog and YouTube channel and I’m loving your work and your videos 🙂 Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

