Stabilo Watercolor Markers & A Giveaway

Hey, all!

I am excited to celebrate with you today my 100 subscribers over at my Youtube channel! I am so so very happy and thankful to all of you that watch my videos, leave a comment or even subscribe. A big big Thank You!

After watching a video of Julia Alterman using the Stabilo markers, I rememberd I had a couple of these markers laying around my craft room and had no idea that these were watercolor! I quickly made a test with mine and when I saw that the color blends with water, I decided to buy the set of 30 and this set has plenty of shades for each color so I am glad I decided to get this one. For me it is more than enough:)

I did spent a bit of time trying to blend them as I wanted, but I’m sure that with more practice I can get them to work so nicely. One thing that I noticed is that it is best if you go in with water right after applying the color, don’t let it sit too much on the paper, otherwise you can get those nasty lines that I believe we all try to avoid:) And another good thing about these markers is that you can go in and apply color directly with your marker even if your paper is still wet! They also blend nicely with eachother and you can use them as regular markers if you don’t want to add water, the colors are very beautiful & intense.So here is a card that I colored using these markers, it was one first experiment playing with some of the colors and must say that I really enjoyed using them.

In the end the effect is pretty much like a regular marker coloring, but that’s just me that I have to get rid of the lines and strokes and always try to have a regular blend. I’m not too loose on that:)

20150715_153315

You can see the how-to process here or on my Youtube channel HERE

Now is time for the GIVEAWAY! Yay! I have 1 set of 30 to give away to one lucky winner! All you have to do is be a subscriber to my channel and enter your name or blog by clicking on the blue froggie down below:) The winner will be announced here on my blog on the 20 of July!

Thank you so much for dropping by!

7 thoughts on “Stabilo Watercolor Markers & A Giveaway

  1. Patricia DeLuca says:

    Very nice, simple card. At first I wasn’t so sure I would like the grey you started using but the card was a good contrast with the intense blue. Looking forward to more ideas!

    Like

    • diycraftyscraps says:

      Thank you, Patricia! The first gray was pretty light, but my camera showed it much more lighter☺ It dosen’t look as watercolor, but it is a good option to use these markers for coloring☺

      Like

  2. Katheryn Thames says:

    Andreea, I too was iffy about the grey flower, but it is lovely. I like how you used the markers in the video, have you considered using the greys to add tone to images and coloring over the top with a different color? I am curious how these markers will do that. For example… lightly color the bottoms of the flower petals with the grey where the color would be the darkest. Then color over the entire petal and see if that brings dimension or if it looks “off”. Does that make sense?

    Liked by 1 person

    • diycraftyscraps says:

      Hello, Katheryn! I did something similar with the stamp set from Altenew, but used 2 shades of the same color. Don’t know what I can use on top of the gray to get a new good color and not something muddy 😀 Will try that and let you know, thanks for the idea:)

      Like

  3. Teodora says:

    Hello, Andreea. Well, you have a new youtube ( and blog ) subscriber 😀 . I enjoyed so much your video ( with those singing critters on the background, feels like real summer, a relaxed one 😉 ) that I can’t wait to try your technique with my few stabilos that I have. Wonderful idea for an alternative to expensive watercoloring cards.
    Thank you.
    T.

    Like

    • diycraftyscraps says:

      Thank you so much, Teodora, and welcome! Those critters are a live orcherstra here from morning till evening:)) Glad I could inspire you, as I was inspired by Julia to try these markers out.

      Like

  4. Denise Bryant says:

    Pretty card!! I love the colors you used, and the 30 pack of the markers has such a great assortment of colors! Thanks for the chance to win such an awesome prize!

    Like

Leave a Reply

