No embossing Versamark resist

Hello!

I am extremley happy that for today’s card I got the chance to use my new ZIG Clean Color markers! I couldn’t help it not to try out these markers and even if I wasn’t able to get some of the rich colors, as they were all out of stock, I still had fun trying to combine the colors that I managed to get:)

I also experimented with this Versamark resist technique that I discovered by accident. Maybe it is not new at all, but for sure it is to me. I kept thinking that this effect can be achieved with other techniques also, like clear embossing, but what I like about this is that you can stamp a sentiment on top; if I would have used embossing powder onto my leaves there, I wouldn’t have been able to do that.

DSC_0196

So I first stamped some leaves from the One with Nature stamp set by SSS with the Versamark. I then heat set the ink with my heat tool. Next, I grabbed a green marker and added color on top of the leaves and with a wet brush I spread the color around. I did the same with a brown marker for the other leaves too. To add a bit of contrast I used a blue marker on two of the corners.

20150704_171456

I also did a lot of embossing and fussy cutting for the leaves & trees and adhered all down with some liquid glue. To decorate my layout I chose a bit of twine and sequins and my card was all done:)

Probably my layout it is a bit crowded, but I like the colors and the elements I’ve used so I decided to reproduce the layout onto a canvas, where I will have much more space to play. I think it will look so awesome onto my craft room wall 🙂

You can see the how-to process in the video below or on Youtube if you click HERE. All the supplies are listed at the end of this post:)

4 thoughts on “No embossing Versamark resist

  1. 3kidmama says:

    Such a VERY pretty card! I love how the water color pigment clings to the versa mark. I had no idea – you must be a genius! I’m definitely going to try that myself. This IS a great stamp set by Simon, isn’t it? 🙂

    Like

    • diycraftyscraps says:

      Thank you so much! It is an awesome technique, mostly because you can stamp on top. I discovered this by accident by not covering a stamped image with the embossing powder all the way through. And when I started coloring I noticed that the color clinged to the Versamark where the powder wasn’t:) Yes, it is by Simon, and it is so so gorgeous!

      Like

Leave a Reply

