Watercolor Flowers & How I Blend Colors

Hello, crafters!

I have a biiiig crush for watercoloring and I wish I was better at it, but I’m not:) I just love to see this technique on cards or watch videos of other people doing it. Each time I’m seeing a new watercoloring technique I say to myself: ”ok, I got it!” and when I go to put it down to paper, it never comes out like I have it in my head, lol:)

With all the coloring techniques out there, I simply love the way that shadows show on images, I can get that with regular markers or pencils, but with watercolors to me it is not that easy. I watercolor in 2 ways: I sometimes put the color onto a block and pick it up with my brush, but the color gets diluted so no shadowing for me there. I leave it to dry and then I go in with a darker color. Or I put the dark color right onto the paper and then blend it with water, but the water pushes the color backwards, so to say, and I get a defined line between colors when it dries and I don’t like that either,lol.

20150622_171354

This morning I played a bit trying a new way to make my shadows stay put:) So what I did is I first layed my darker color onto paper and then blended it with my brush but this time instead of water I picked up the lighter color with my brush and started applying it right on top of the dark color.

20150622_171350cc

Now what that did, besides creating a new color, is that it kept my shadows in place, because I didn’t add water but color. I wish that could make more sense, but I have a video here showing what I’m babbling about:)

I made this video fro the Altenew Video Challenge and used their gorgeous stamp set called Persian Motifs. I love their projects and each time I visit their blog I am amazed !

3 thoughts on “Watercolor Flowers & How I Blend Colors

  1. May Park says:

    Thanks for playing along with our Video Challenge, Andreea! To eligible to win the challenge, you need to add your video link to our video challenge post using InLinkz tool. Hope to see your video in the entries.

    Like

Leave a Reply

