One Die Two Cards Video & A Small Giveaway

Hi and welcome!

Today I am showcasing the Simon Says Stamp Ariana Wreath die and 2 projects that I made using the same die in a different way.

20150528_131251

I have a lot to share with you, so let’s start:) For my first card I used the die to die cut the wreath right in the center of my card. I then die cut the same wreath from a white cardstock also. I actually die cut it twice from the white cardstock and you will see why in just a bit. To add more interest to my card base, I did some tone on tone stamping with some flower and leaves stamps.

I wanted to create a trasparent window behind my wreath so I adhered a piece of a cellophane bag on which I stamped my greeting with the StazOn white ink. This ink is sooo amazing! It leaves a perfect white impression and even if I stamped onto a slick surface, my stamp didn’t shift at all, as this ink is a bit sticky and not that wet as regular inks are

20150528_131237

After my ink was dry I adhered the white wreath to add a bit of contrast and I used some liquid glue for that. I also added a pink banner and put adhesive only to the banner ends so that the middle has a raised look. Now because there was a lot of adhesive showing to the back of the cellophane piece I added the second white cardstock piece that I die cut initially. And that hides everything away and nothing shows through:)

20150528_131224

My second card envolves a lot of diy elements, so to say, lol! I searched through all my stamps and stencils for a brick wall image and find none, so I had to make my own brick wall background. So I drew the bricks with my pencil, very easy to make, just make sure to not have the vertical lines of the bricks falling one on top of eachother but offset them a bit so the look is more realistic.

20150528_131213

After the drawing was done, I had to add color to my bricks so I went in and colored all very lightly with a brown pencil and with a darker brown I highlighted all the lines, vertical & horizontal ones. To blend all together and to smooth out all the pencil lines, I used my Gamsol and a paper stump. For my window piece I used my Silhouette and cut it out. I made the vase of my flowers from a piece of white paper that I then colored with some Copics.

For the flowers I used a die and die cut them from white cardstock also. To add color I used the Copics once again. As you can see there are a lot of leaves in there and I made those with the same wreath die, only this time I cut it apart and added extra leaves where was needed. Because I had some cellophane left from my previous card I decided to add it behind the window, just to give it the look of glass:) I backed my window with a light blue cardstock and adhered it with foam tape onto my card just to add some dimension and a sort of shadowing.

20150528_131216

After arranging my flowers and leaves on top of my vase there I adhered all with adhesive tape right on the front of the window. To add the sentiment I used a ‘thanks’ stamp, that I white embossed on a strip of black cardstock.

To finish my card, I used my Wink of Stella glitter brush to add shimmer to the flowers and leaves. So these were the 2 ways I used the same die for a different look:)

I am entering my project in the Monday Challenge over at Simon Says Stamp🙂

You can watch the how-to video here on my blog or HERE on my Youtube channel.

*** And now the GIVEAWAY! If you were inspired on how you can use this lovely die, I have TWO Ariana Wreath dies to give away. Yay!

Click on the Blue Frog button below and then hit the Ad Your Link to enter your name and your email address. The giveaway is opened internationally! One entry per person:)


2 thoughts on “One Die Two Cards Video & A Small Giveaway

  1. Andrea Ockey Parr says:

    Wow! I really love the clever uses of the wreath die! I love to see dies done in different ways and I thought both applications were brilliant. I liked how both cards are so absolutely unique and you did a great job on each one. I’d be hard-pressed to pick a favorite and thought you were very creative to use a cellophane bag the way you did. Thanks for the inspiration and for sharing your skills with us for this week’s Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

