Simple Background Stenciling / One Layer Card

Hello,

yesterday I shared with you some fun colorful card backgrounds and while I was working on the layouts, I had in mind and idea of using one of those rectangle dies and create a stencil.

So here is where that idea took me:)

20150527_120519bb

I used the rectangle die to cut a window onto a piece of copy paper and used that as a stencil onto my card. I placed the rectangle horizontally & vertically onto my card base and colored in all those areas with some of my Distress Inks. I heavily applied the color as I wanted to have strong colors in there:)

Using the same ‘stencil’ I went ahead and added some flowers and leaves onto my colored rectangles. I used black ink to stamp my decorations as that added so much contrast to my layout. To make the images pop a bit more, I added some white dots here and there.

20150527_120608

Another fun part was to create embossed lines all around the rectangles just to frame them more and to add dimension also. So I aligned each rectangle onto my paper trimmer and used the scoring feature and the bone folder to create my lines. I first scored them on the front, and that created a debossed frame, but that only helped to be as guide lines as I turned my paper onto the other side and remade the same scoring lines. And now the impression is embossed on the front of my card.

20150527_120612

I thought it would look nice to stamp a bunch of sentiments all over my card and I used once again the Versafine black ink.

This would be nice to recreate it for like a birthday theme card, and stamp a lot of birthday images onto the rectangles, like balloons, stars, confetti ecc and also use different shapes other than rectangles

I am entering my project in the Work It Wednesday Challenge over at Simon Says Stamp🙂

You can see the how-to video below or watch it HERE on Youtube.

Thank you for stopping by!

aladine-clear-stamps-natura-04101

Leave a Reply

