Stretch your Dies to Create Fun Backgrounds

Hello, crafters!

I’ve always liked the full background dies, but they are a bit expensive to buy each and every one I like. So I pulled out some of my small dies and tried to recreate kind of the same effect with my supplies. You won’t get the intricate look that the background dies have, but this is still a fun way to stretch your supplies:)

I created two cards, one using the dies to cut various shapes onto the paper and I used the die cut pieces to create my second card.

20150526_141523

First I aranged the dies how I liked most and used my Big Shot to cut all out. I then added color to the back of the windows there with my Distress Ink and also did some tone on tone stamping for more interest with several floral stamps. The impression that I got is very faded, but in real life is is much more visible. Just because the white die cut panel looked too flat, I embossed with clear powder a background stamp and that added the perfect extra touch that I was looking for.

20150526_141252

To embellish my card I added several colorful sequins and also made some dashed lines along the inside of the shapes.

I mounted my panel with craft foam and the dimension that I got with this foam tape is so so pretty:)

For my second card I embossed with the same pattern all my die cut pieces and then added color on top following the same colors that I used for my first card. I then added the sequins and stamped the sentiment in black onto a strip of white cardstock.

DSC_0217

I really really like how my cards came out and oh, the possibilities are infinite for how you can create patterns with small dies:)

I hope I gave you some ideas on how you can stretch your supplies and would love to read what you think about this way of using craft dies. Your comment is much appreciated:)

I am entering my project in the Work It Wednesday Challenge over at Simon Says Stamp🙂

Leave a Reply

