Focusing a Layout onto Specific Spots on a Card

Hello & welcome to a new blog post! 🙂

Sometimes I enjoy experimenting as much as I can when I create my cards so today I will share with you how you can concentrate a layout or design onto certain parts of a card.

I have 3 cards that I made following this idea. One my first project I tried to focus all my elements on the top right corner of my card. So I added all my embellishments and my sentiment all on the same spot. This type of layout reminds me of the scrapbooking layouts, although I never tried one myself:)

20150525_174959

As you can see I added a strip of green cardstock onto which I die cut an arrow pattern. I then added a piece of washi tape on top, some string and a speech bubble on which I stamped my sentiment. Before adhereing all these items, I added some black splashes with my brush. I finished the layout by adding a couple of silver stars that I die cut with a Lwan Fawn die. I really like how it came out and I had so much fun ‘crowding’ each and every element in there:)

For my second card, I concentrated my design on the bottom left corner and I colored some cute macarons with watercolor markers onto watercolor paper. I added some sequins here and there and mounted my pannel onto a blue card base. The sentiment is stamped with brown Archival Ink. I really wanted to keep all my layouts as clean and simple as I could and tried to not overdue to much:)

20150525_174748 20150525_174742

Last but not least, the center focused layout. Easy peasy!:) I stamped and embossed some flowers and leaves from a lovely Simon Says stamp set and stamped my sentiment with black Versafine ink. This card was the quickest to make but it is so adorable and elegant in real life. The embossing powder that I used is a silver one and once that is heat set it adds so much shine to the stamped images!

20150525_175133 20150525_174820

With that being said, I came to realize that you can create lovely cards by using few supplies also and add a lot of interest with a nice composition of various elements.:)

You can watch the video for the how-to process here on my blog or HERE if you want to watch it on Youtube. **Click the wheel icon to set the video to a higher resolution. You can find that in the video toolbar.

Thx for stopping by!

94652

Leave a Reply

