3 Ways to Add Colour to Stamped Images

Hi!

As the title says, today I am sharing 3 ways that you can add color to stamped images. The mediums I am featuring are Copic Markers, Colored Pencils & Gelatos.

DSC_0198

I stamped all my flowers with the Memento Tuxedo Black onto some Neenah white cardstock.

For my red flowers, I used 3 shades of Copic markers. This is probably the quickest way to add color to stamps and the way these markers blend is just perfect and quite unique:) I started with the darkest tone and I colored the bottom side of the petals, then I moved to a medium tone and finally I blended all together with my lightest marker.

The yellow flower is colored with 2 colored pencils, a Prisma and a Faber Castell one. The Prisma pencils are much more softer than the Faber Castell and the colors apply much more smoother onto the paper. To blend everything in I used the Gamsol and a paper stump and that also helps to smooth out the pencil strokes that may get while coloring. This method also is very fast and easy:)

My last flower, the purple one, I colored it with 2 Gelatos. I usually added Gelatos onto my Art Journal Layouts, I never colored with these onto plain paper, but on paper where I had first applied either gesso or gel medium. This time I applied the color with the brushes that you can find in the Gelatos sets. And these are of a big help for spreading the color around. You can also try to do this with your finger. I tried it too, but the color just doesn’t move, lol..maybe it’s the paper:)

20150525_152543cv

To add some dimension to my flowers, I cut some slits following the petals lines and I also curved the tips just a bit backwards. Of course I added some shimmer and also some dots with my white gel pen.

For my background I used a woodgrain stamp and embossed the image with clear powder onto a soft blue piece of cardstock. I then added a strip of patterned paper and one of glittery paper to complete my layout. For the sentiment I used a lovely word die by Lawn Fawn and die cut twice the word ‘thanks’ just for a more raised look.

20150525_152624

To finish my card, I glued several white enamel dots here and there and mounted the panel with adhesive tape onto a white card base that I folded vertically.

Of course, I have a video showing all the steps and make sure to set the quality to max by clicking the wheel button on the video toolbar.

Thx for stopping by!

florileges-design-timbro-fleur-script-fe111048

Leave a Reply

