Watercoloring with Lyra Aqua Brush Duo

I will have a busy weekend so I will share 2 projects today, yay! My second project features the wonderful Lyra watercolor markers. I just love these markers for the beautiful strong colors that they have, how they blend and of course for their price:)

Usually I do watercolor backgrounds or flowers, and very rarely I color ‘people’ stamps so to say. Not that I don’t like it, it’s just that I’m not good at that, lol!

For this card I believe I spent like a couple of hours, as the image that I used has all tiny spaces for coloring and it happened so many times that my colors went off the stamped lines. Each time that happened, I just cleaned my brush really well and then added water to the area that was messed up and picked up the excess with a paper towel right away.

20150522_192107

But because I love this stamp and I really really wanted to finish this card, I did all I could to ‘mask off’ all the mistakes.

I also did some stenciling to create my clouds and added a bit of clear glitter on top of them. Once the paste has dried, there is such a lovely sparkle on my card that I just loove:)

20150522_192134

For my sentiment I used a sticker from Studio Calico as there wasn’t too much space to stamp a greeting. I only wish I colored the girl’s shirt with a different color, I used a greenish-yellow that looks too much like the grass:)

As a finishing touch I added more sparkle with my clear Wink of Stella and even though this card took me like forever, I am happy that I continued and finished it off. I also enjoyed coloring with these markers and will use them much more for future projects, especially that now the watercolor technique is such on trend:)

Both my projects for today had as theme ‘using a stencil’ for the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge.

I wish you all a relaxing weekend and see you on Monday with new projects!

8 thoughts on “Watercoloring with Lyra Aqua Brush Duo

  1. Virginia L. says:

    Love your clouds! They are so soft and fluffy-looking! Thanks so much for playing Simon Says Stamp Wednesday “Stencil It” Challenge!

    Like

  2. Jingle says:

    This is just all around fantastic! I love the clouds so much! And you colored her beautifully! Thanks so much for playing along with the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge!

    Like

  3. Maria Rodriguez says:

    Your card is adorable, you colored this lovely image beautifully. The clouds look real, so fluffy and with lots of dimension, I’ve never tried that paste but I’ve seen Darlene and other crafters use it and it always looks amazing. Love the shimmer on them and on this beautiful girl’s hair.
    Thank you for sharing your lovely card and for participating in the May Challenge.
    Many paper hugs.
    Maria.

    Like

Leave a Reply

