Tracing a Die Cut onto Paper & Watercolor / Stretch your Dies

Hello and happy Saturday to you all!

Today I have a fun technique to share with you and it is a great way to stretch your supplies. It all started with this small flower die by Simon Says Stamp:)

1_120756_FSsd

I used the flower die and I traced the die cut piece onto some watercolor paper with my distress markers. And as these are water based they make watercoloring perfect for this technique:) The distress markers have one of the tips quite fine and this made the tracing of the outlines so much easier. I then added a bit of color to the bottom of the petals and with a wet brush I colored in my flowers.

20150509_155335zz

If you want to try this out, make sure that your brush is not too wet, as the lines are traced with the same water based markers and don’t have a permanent outline like we would have if we would have stamped with waterproof inks.

20150509_155219

20150509_155352

Next I stamped a couple of dots here and there and covered the flowers with clear shimmer. I also used another great die from Simon Says Stamp and cut away some of the parts of the die cut piece. I then mounted all onto foam adhesive and that finished my card.

20150509_155406

Now I have a very cute & colored card, perfect for Mother’s Day:)

4 thoughts on “Tracing a Die Cut onto Paper & Watercolor / Stretch your Dies

  1. cheiron says:

    Such a great technique and a beautiful background! Thank you so much for playing along with us over at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge this week 🙂

    Like

  2. DebiKT says:

    Very pretty. I wonder – could you have colored the bottom of your diecut with the distress markers and then use them like a stamp (instead of tracing?). Anyway, it’s lovely.

    Like

    • diycraftyscraps says:

      Thank you! I think not, as the paper absorbs the color, the color dosen’t stay at the surface of the paper to be able to stamp with it. I hope I got your question right:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

