Trying out Watercolor Technique / Pebeo Watercolors

Hello all, Andreea here!

I took a short break from posting as I had a really busy week with the wedding season starting:)

But I’m back and as soon as I finished my orders, I hurried to my craft table to make the card for today. Yay! I enjoy so much making cards or Art Journal layouts ๐Ÿ™‚

For today’s card I tested out my new watercolors. This is a set from Pebeo that has 24 beautiful colors and it comes with a brush also. I like how this is made as it is all inside a tin metal round box and there is a divider space inside where you can mix colors or put water. Very, very nice!

images

First thing first, I die cut a tag out of a piece of watercolor paper and then stamped and white embossed a couple of flowers on it. I’m not great at watercoloring, so I always choose simple ways to use this technique. I added plain water to the petals and then with a smaller brush I picked the colors and just dropped them onto the petals there.

20150424_141806

Once all dried, I did the same for the center of the flowers and also colored the tag very very lightly with some blue, just to make the flowers pop a bit more. If I will make this card again, I will try to use black or gold embossing powder so the flowers will be more obvious. The great thing about using embossing powders with watercoloring is that the powder once is set, it kind of traps the colors inside the stamped image so you won’t have to worry that you will make a big mess on your paper ๐Ÿ™‚

20150424_141852

I also added a bit of shimmer to the flowers by picking some clear stickles with my brush.

For the sentiment I used a strip of black paper and I wanted to have it across my tag, but it was too long and covered my flowers. Didn’t want that after all the time I spent coloring, so I just trim it down and I really like how it came out. ๐Ÿ™‚

To complete my card, I chose several patterned papers that I adhered onto my card base and also added a golden string to my tag.

This was the card for today, I hope you enjoyed and I will be back soon with new products and new cards ๐Ÿ™‚

20150424_192852

List of supplies: Pebeo Watercolorsย / Hero Arts Shallows Cardstock / SSS Thinking of You Stamp Set / SSS You Stamp Set / Ranger Super Fine White Embossing Powder / Versamark Embossing Ink / Paper Smooches Tag Dieย 

One thought on “Trying out Watercolor Technique / Pebeo Watercolors

  1. Sarah says:

    Lovely watercoloring! I Like to emboss before I do it too because it keep everything from getting too messy. the patterned paper with the tiny banners is really cute.

    Like

Leave a Reply

