DIY Distress Ink Pads Storage System

Hey all and Happy Sunday!

Here is a quick post on how I store my Distress Inks Pads. I also made a video and you can see why I had to come up with a way to store these ink pads. My craft room is kind of small, and I work on a desk that dosen’t have drawers and because I don’t have that much space I can’t buy other furniture with drawers either:) So I store my ink pads one on top of eachother. If you have these ink pads you know how they are made and how the bottom side is like an open space, initially made for keeping the sponges in there. But for my sponges I have a plastic containter where I keep them all and don’t have a sponge for each color either, so i couldn’t use the bottom space as it was intened.

Now what I did, is I traced the outline shape of one of the pads onto some cardstock that I don’t use much and cut around the traced lines with my scissors. This is also a great way to use up those scraps of cardstock that we all gather from crafting various projects:) For those of you that have a paper trimmer, you can go ahead and cut squares of 7.5 cm x 7.5 cm. You will need though to round the corners, as the pads have round corners.

Next I grabbed some foam tape and stacked 2 pieces one on top of the other right in that space that it is on the bottom of the ink pad. I then grabbed my cardstock and adhered it right in there. If you don’t have the foam tape you can also use some fun foam and cut small pieces out of it. Just adhere them with some adhesive tape and you’re good to go.

I found this system to be exactly what I needed and now when I pull one of my ink pads from the stash I won’t have all the ink pads coming out and create a big mess:)

I hope I gave you some ideas on how you can create a DIY storage system for the Distress Ink Pads that will help those of you that have space issues in the craft room:)

Leave a Reply

