Trying out Watercolor Technique / Take 1

Hello, beautiful people! I am back with a new card that I made using the watercolor technique. I absolutely love this technique on cards and I would stay for hours to watch how people do the watercoloring, but I still have so much to learn. Now I’m at the basics, just adding splashes of color and water, hahaha:) Here is a quick card that I made with just some simple colors, red, yellow, blue and purple.

DSC_0163

I first wet down my paper really well, and the watercolor paper that I am using is a Canson Montval 300gsm. This was my first time trying out this paper and I must say I am really impressed. It’s thick, I love the color that it is not yellow-ish, but much brighter and it didn’t warped too much when I used my heat gun on it. After my colors were all dried, I added splashes of color with a metallic silver and white. I also used for the first time this new die from Winnie & Walter and die cut it right in the middle of my pannel. The die cut piece is absolutely lovely and you can use this technique onto your scraps of watercolor pieces, so don’t throw them away as you might be surprise how nicely you can reuse them with a die:) I popped the die cut LOVE with 3mm foam squares for more interest and dimension.

DSC_0167

You can check the video for the How To steps, although I ran out of recording time at the end and you won’t see the last step that I did, that was adding the beautiful sequins from Pretty Pink Posh. I had so much fun with my watercolors and will for sure try out more ways to use them on my cards:) Thank you all for stopping by and make sure to check the list of supplies at the end of the post.

List of Supplies: Canson Montval Watercolor Paper / Brushed Pewter Distress Paint / Picket Fence Distress Paint / Pretty Pink Posh Springtime Sequins / SSS You Stamp Set / Versafine Onyx Black Ink / Set of Brushes

Leave a Reply

