Art Journal Layout for Earth Day 2015

As mentioned yesterday, I was going to post a new art journal layout. So here I am with a celebration for Earth Day 2015. You know, when all big cities of the world turned their lights off for our great Mother Earth 🙂

Today I am working on a black background and I honestly was a bit scared for oopsies and stuff, but in then end it was so easy and so much fun!

When my gesso was dry I applied a coat of black acrylic paint with my new sponge brush and have to say that I love these brushes as they don’t leave those strokes on paper. If you get the chance to try this type of brushes, make sure to clean them right away otherwise the top edge will get dry and become stiff and there won’t be much you can do to save your brush 🙂

I stamped some building, cut them out with my scissors and then adhered them down with matte medium.

20150330_154034

The stenciling gave me a bit of hard times, as I was accidentally kept moving it around and also because it was a stencil that had 3 patterns on it, I had to be careful not to cover the rest with embossing paste. When that happened I just removed all with a wet baby wipe.

20150330_153918

I also had the chance to use my new stamp set that i just looove, the Worn Text stamp set from Tim Holtz, aswell as the Schoolhouse stencil. At the end I added some wooden numbers that I colored with my gelatos and after another bit of stenciling with a white pigment ink, my layout was all done!

Oh, and just for fun ,I added a bit of crackle paint over the wooden numbers. Check the photo to see what beautiful cracks you get!

20150330_182708

You can see all the process in my video right below. Thank you all for stopping by!

List of supplies: Reeves Gesso / Reeves Black Acrylic Paint / Foam Brushes / Ranger Multi Medium Matte / Studio Calico PArk Avenue Stamp Set / Vintage Photo Distress Ink / Peacock Feathers Distress Ink / Hero Arts Unicorn White Pigment Ink / Tim Holtz Worn Text Stamp Set / Tim Holtz Schoolhouse Stencil / Heidi Swapp Confetti Stencil / Wood Numbers / Wendy Vecchi Embossing Paste / SSS Celebrate Stamp Set / Ranger Archival Ink Jet Black / Bo Bunny Stamp Block Set / Tim Holtz Clear Candy Crackle Paint

Leave a Reply

