My First Art Journal Page / Welcome Spring with Video

Hey all,

as the title says, welcome to my first ever art journal page. Can’t help it, I’m too curious to try as many products as I find out there, aswell as techniques so I decided to go for the Art Journaling. I don’t have many supplies yet, but I managed to create my first layout:) 20150326_174224 To prepare my work surface I applied a thin layer of gesso that helps spreading the paints around creating also a non-porous surface. I then colored all with some distress paints and accentuated the edges with a brown distress stain. To add texture to my layout, I used some gold foil to the angles on top of a polka dot pattern that I stamped using a special glue primer for the gold foil technique. I also added a bit of embossing paste through a chevron stencil that adds dimension and interest to my project. 20150326_174241 I created a couple of banners with stamps and also used other butterfly stamps or music notes to cover up my background. The flowers at the bottom are stamped and hand cut. I glued everything down with some gel medium from Ranger. 20150326_174301 You can see the entire process of this Art Journal in the video at the end of the post.

Thank you all for dropping by and I honestly encourage you to try out as many techniques as you can. This will only enrich  your work and bring so much fun 🙂20150326_174411

List of supplies: Moleskine Sketch Notebook / Distress Paint Squeezed Lemonade / Distress Paint Bundled Sage / Distress Stain Vintage Photo / MFT Polka Dot Background Stamp / Clearly Besotted Journal It Stamp Set / Sizzix & Hero Arts Stamp Set / Sizzix Dragonfly Stamp Set / Therm O Web Gold Foil / SSS Chevron Stencil / Wendy Vecchi Embossing Paste / Ranger Multi Medium Matte Gel

Leave a Reply

