Finally Back with New Cards ! Studio Calico Kit

Hello everyone,

it’s been forever since my last post, but I was so caught up with  work that I couldn’t find a bit of spare time for some fun crafting! So now I am back and have 2 cards to share with you today.

Both are made with one of the Studio Calico’s Kit that I recently got. I had a subscription for a couple of months, as I wanted to try out their kits. I also have a subscription to the Simon Says Monthly Kits, but I took a break for a couple of months, as some of the items included I kinda already had:)

I must say that I really, really love the Studio Calico kits, they include a lot of items like a full set of stamps, a set of patterned papers, several 8,5” x 11” colored cardstock sheets and many various embellishments.

The kit that I used is callled ”Cirque” and it is the February 2015 card kit.

Feb-_Card_Main-5146-3

For both cards I used the air balloon stamp as my focal point and with the help of the great sentiments that are included, I created 2 different theme cards:)

1st Card

To cut my pannel I used the Stitched Rectangle Die from SSS and I colored it using some of my Distress Inks. I will link the colors and all the products at the end of the post. I stamped the mountains and colored them with some green inks by using my finger daubber. For the peaks I used a white gel pen to fill them in and once dried I covered them with a bit of sparkling glitter.

20150322_161315

I then die cut a couple of clouds out of some white cardstock and adhered them with foam dots for some dimension. The patterned paper that you see in the back is from the kit, I only added the polka dot pattern with a background stamp. For that lovely sentiment I used my favorite ink for stamping text, and that is the Versafine Onyx Black.

20150322_161420

I backed my pannel with a white rectangle paper die cut and mounted it on foam tape onto my card base. As finishing touches, I added a bit of Glossy Accents to the basket of the air balloon, aswell as some shine on the air ballon with the Wink of Stella Clear Glitter Gel Brush.

I also have a video of a card very similar to the one I posted if you want to take a look 🙂

2nd Card

My next card is a Birthday Card and I had a lot of fun making it, although it was slightly time consuming and you will see in a bit why:)

20150323_104150

Let’s say I wanted a white air balloon and as it has those strings there within the stamp, I had to find a way to make them show on light cardstock. After several tries, I found the right way to do so, by poking some holes with a pointy tool and thread some white twine to connect the balloon and the basket 🙂 This was the part that got the most of my attention, so to say:)

I wanted to have a fun and bright card, so I used several embellishments here and there, like pearls, glitter glue, ribbon. Everything besides the pearls is included in the kit.

20150322_174413

The pink patterned paper that I chose has a soft wood print to it and it is so adorable! I stamped a couple of stars with some pink dye ink and adhered a strip of scalloped edge black ribbon that has adhesive on the back and that you can find in this kit also. I told you that you get a lot of embellishments with their kits!:) For my card base I used a polka dot embossing folder and that was something I haven’t used in a while. I should do it more often, the effect that you get with the dry embossing technique is always beautiful:)

Oh, I also stamped and white embossed the stars on my air balloon just because I used a pink paper as background and it kinda needed something extra.

20150322_174420

As you can see there is a bit of dimension between the yellow pannel and the card base and that is because I used some strips of foam tape to the back.  These were my cards for today, I hope you enjoyed and found a bit of inspiration. See you soon with some new handmade cards!

Happy crafting to all of you!

List of Supplies 1st Card:  Studio Calico Cirque Kit / Memory Box Cloud Die / Distress Ink Tumbled Glass / Distress Ink Broken China / Disress Ink Mowed Lawn / Versafine Onyx Black Ink / Memento Luxe Dandelion Pigment Ink / Avery Elle Fizz Pigment Ink / SSS Stitched Rectangle Die / Stickles Diamond Glitter Glue / Uni Ball White Gel Pen / Glossy Accents / Wink Of Stella Glitter Gel 

List of Supplies 2nd Card: Studio Calico Cirque Kit / Stickles Diamond Glitter Glue / Uni Ball White Gel Pen / SSS Stitched Rectangle Die / Cuttlebug Embossing Folder / SSS Doll Pink Die Ink / SSS Cotton Candy Dye Ink

Leave a Reply

