Christmas Ornament Tags / Paper Ornaments

Hello, hello!

Today I am sharing with you these lovely ornament tags that you can use for embellishing your gift wrapping or even hang them in your Christmas tree.

20141123_154902

Initially I have done these all white, but one of my friends asked me if I could make them with the letters red and I said, without too much thinking, yes! And as I started making them, I tried to figure out how to make the letters red. You will know what I am talking about in a bit, as I put on the photos:)

I tried coloring the letters with my markers, but didn’t like it how it looked, plus the paper assorbed the color and it spread to places I didn’t want to. So then I had the idea of cutting another ornament out of red cardstock and cut out the letters to glue them afterwards on top of the white ones. And that worked quite well:)

As you can see I first cut 2 ornaments, 1 white and 1 red. For this I used the Tim Holtz Carved Ornaments die and the Love Movers & Shapers magnetic die. They fit perfectly!

20141124_130722 20141124_130740

20141124_131037

I then carefully cut the red letters with a precision knife, dabbed some glue on the white letters and glued the red ones(again!) on top. I repetead the same process for the back of the ornament and if you don’t want to see any of the white cardstock showing on the sides, you can use a red marker to cover that up. I skipped this part, but did tried it out:)

20141124_131125 20141124_131204

Next, I die cut the snowflake, stamped the birdie and die cut that too, tied a ribbon around the bottom part and adhered a silver gem.

20141124_131540

At this point, the ornament is done. But if you want to take it one step further and give it a more festive look, you can cover the edges with a fine line of glue and sprinkle on some glitter. As you see me doing here.

20141124_131710 20141124_131924

All you need to do now is punch a hole on top, thread some ribbon or string and that’s it!

20141124_132022

I have these ornaments in my shop also, featuring the white on white finish, but I gladly accept custom requests if you need other colors:) You can check them out at the link below.

Paper Ornament Tags

Here is a list of the supplies I used and I hope you can make your Christmas a real handmade masterpiece! It’s fun, rewarding and you can make such unique pieces of art! 🙂

List of supplies
Sizzix & Hero Arts Chandelier Framelits
Lawn Fawn Stitched Snowflake

Leave a Reply

