‘Stretch’ for Christmas Day 2

Hello,

I already had this made yesterday, but before I got to make the photos it was already dark outside:)

So here is the second card of the ”no-Christmas stamps” series. I believe that with the right color combination and some embellishments like glitter or embossing powders, you can create a real festive card, without the use of specific stamps.

20141121_11531420141121_115324

All flower stamps and die cuts are from Clearly Besotted. I will put the link of all supplies at the end of the post.

This is such a great stamp set that has 2 coordinated dies. The stamp set contains solid stamps aswell as build-on stamps. So you can stamp the big flower in one color only, or use the other stamps to create the different parts of the flower in various colors. There is a stamp for the leaves, a stamp for the petals and one for the stems.

To stamp the big leaves I used Versamark and then I heat embossed with golden embossing powder.

As the Clearly Besotted dies are full metal dies, and not outline dies, you have to die cut the image first and then stamp it with the coordinated stamp.

I used a piece of acetate to add more interest to my card and with the help of double-sided adhesive tape I created the 2 glittery strips. I added a couple of rhinestones here and there and heat embossed the sentiment onto some blue cardstock.

I chosoed this color combination to enter a lovely challenge from Outlawz, which proposed the colors of the South Africa national flag. I replaced the yellow with the gold, but I think that this still qualifies, right?:)

For the flowers, I tried different ways to color them, like the Prisma pencils, Copics, the Distress markers, but didn’t like how they all come out. So in the end I choosed to directly color the stamps with the Distress markers and then stamp the image.

I used reds and greens to give the look of a poinsettia, and I really like the final result. Would love to see what you think and how you use your non-Christmas stamps to create a Christmas card. You can put links to your projects in the comments below, I would love to see your beautiful work:)

List of supplies : Clearly Besotted Fabulous Fuchsias Branch Die

Leave a Reply

